Brian Lumley

About Author

Writes horror. His early work was heavily influenced by H.P. Lovecraft's Cthulhu Mythos cycle. Lumley writes the best horror novels of the Great Old Ones with the unpronounceable names. His other works are also very good, notably the Necroscope series.

Born in Hordern, County Durham. At 21 he started 22 years of National Service, in the Royal Military Police. In 1981 he returned to civilian life and became a full-time author.


  • The Caller of the Black

  • Beneath the Moors

  • The Horror at Oakdeene

  • The Burrowers Beneath - Cthulhu Mythos story about the conspiracy of the Old Ones.

  • The Transition of Titus Crow - Titus Crow. Cthulhu Mythos.

  • The Clock of Dreams - Titus Crow uses the clock to travel through time and space. Cthulhu Mythos.

  • Spawn of the Winds - Cthulhu Mythos.

  • In the Moons of Borea - Cthulhu Mythos.

  • Elysia - Cthulhu Mythos.

  • Khai of Ancient Khem - Egyptian story.

  • The House of Cthulhu & Others

  • Tarra Khash: Hrossak!

  • Ghoul Warnings & Other Omens (Poetry)

    Hero of Dreams - Set in a world that is populated by the dreams of the sleeping. A world of swords and sorcery, wizard and monsters.

  • The Ship of Dreams - Sequel set in the dream world.

  • Mad Moon of Dreams - Sequel set in the dream world.

  • Iced on Aran

  • The Compleat Crow - Titus Crow. Cthulhu Mythos.

    Psychomech Trilogy

  • 1. Psychomech
  • 2. Psychosphere
  • 3. Psychamok!

  • Demogorgon - A young thief from London is drawn into an age old conflict involving the most evil being in creation, Demogorgon.

  • House of Doors - A mysterious house appears out of nowhere in Scotland. The government send in a trained investigator to find out what the house is, and why it appeared. Entering the house leads them on an amazing and terrifying journey to discover exactly what the house really is.

    Necroscope Series

  • 1. Necroscope
  • 2. Wamphyri
  • 3. The Source
  • 4. Deadspeak
  • 5. Deadspawn

    - A Necroscope is a person who can talk directly to the dead as easily as ordinary people talk to each other. For the young boy Harry Keogh, who knows he is different from all others, the dead become his only friends. As the only Necroscope to exist, Harry is called on to join in the defence of the Realm.

    Vampire World Series

  • 1. Blood Brothers
  • 2. The Last Aerie
  • 3. Blood Wars

    - Spin of series from the Necroscope series. Harry Keogh, the Necroscope, is dead but life goes on in the Vampire world. The two sons of Harry Keogh come together, one a vampire and the other fighting the darkness within himself.

  • Fruiting Bodies and Other Fungi - Cthulhu Mythos.

  • Return of the Deep Ones and Other Mythos Tales - Cthulhu Mythos.

    Related Websites

    Back to the authors archive, Updated Authors list
    Farris Systems 1998