A Clash of Kings

by George R.R. Martin

Published by Voyager (UK)
U.K. 6.99
741 Pages
ISBN 0-00-647989-8


This fantasy novel is the second volume in the trilogy "ASong of Ice and Fire", sequel to A Game of Thrones. The story mainly follows the family Stark, who are lords of the grim frozen northern kingdom, which is one of the Seven Kingdoms rule by the Iron Throne.

From the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns as pretenders to the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms prepare to stake their claims. As a prophecy of doom cuts across the sky - a comet the colour of blood and flame - five factions struggle for control of a divided land. Against a backdrop of incest and fratricide, alchemy and murder, the price of glory is measured in blood.

With King Robert is now dead, four new Kings raise their standards and must contest for the crown. Rob Stark marshalls his northern lords to strike at Joffrey Baratheon and his Lannister southern lords. Both of Robert Baratheon's brothers also gather their own forces to strike at the others. Only one king can rule, so they must battle until only one is left standing.

The plot moves to other parts of the the North and the South and lands over the seas. We see more of the wastes north of the Wall, with Jon Snow, and foreign lands, with Daenerys Targaryen.

This was not as flowing as the first novel. The plot has spread to cover most of the known world. It is difficult to predict what will happen in the next novel, with so many characters and plots. Hopefully the next novel will bring everything together, for a strong ending to a promising series.

Overall this was an good novel, in a excellent series. 8 out of 10.

P.F. January 2000

Go Back to the authors index page

© Farris Systems 2000